Saddlebred Nominees Announced



LEXINGTON, (ASHA)  – The American Saddlebred Horse Association (ASHA) has announced its annual award winners, based on ballots tabulated by the ASHA Board of Directors.

Nominees for each award are received from the general membership and committee volunteers, screened by the Executive Committee of the Association, and voted on by the full Board from the candidates selected. The awards are presented at the Annual Saddlebred Gala, to be held at the Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, Saturday evening, February 19, 2011.

New in 2011 is the ASHA Wing Tempo Award. This newly created award will recognize American Saddlebreds that have achieved excellence of the highest order in disciplines and venues not typically considered within the standard show ring structure. To receive consideration for this award, horses must be registered with the American Saddlebred Registry.

The inaugural recipient of the award will be the award’s very namesake, Wing Tempo. Named after his grandsire, the famed CHWing Commander, Wing Tempo is a seven-time winner of the North American Trail Ride Conference’s (NATRC) President’s Cup, a prestigious national award which was declared retired, and placed on permanent display in the Distance Riding exhibit at

the International Museum of the Horse.
The complete list of 2011 awards and recipients is as follows:
Lifetime Achievement – William H. Thompson, Elsberry, Missouri
Breeders Hall of Fame Inductee – Dr. Alan Raun, Cumming, Iowa
Breeder of the Year, 2010 – Dr. Alan Raun, Cumming, Iowa

Horse of the YearCHSprinkles
C.J. “June” Cronan Sportsmanship – William Shatner, Beverly Hills, California
Mrs. Lurline Roth Sportsmanship – Patty Milligan, Plano, Texas
Meritorious Service – Sally Jackson, Overland Park, Kansas
Wing Commander Medal – Keith Bartz, Naples, Florida
Gillenwater Family Trophy – Ed and Ada Perwien, Bellville, Texas
Gordon Jenkins International – Jack Noble, Georgetown, Kentucky
Frank Ogletree Youth Award – Ashley, Biggins, Simpsonville, Kentucky

Wing Tempo Award – Wing Tempo
Award recipients will be honored during the Annual Saddlebred Gala, on Saturday night, February 19, 2011.

The Annual Saddlebred Gala is held each year on the final night of the American Saddlebred Annual Convention and Youth Conference, which is scheduled to take place beginning Thursday, February 17, through Saturday, February 19, at the Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, in Lexington, Kentucky.

For more information about the 2011 American Saddlebred Annual Convention and Youth Conference, visit the ASHA website, here.