Vale Retains Narrow Hagyard Challenge Series Lead, Hesslink Holds Hallway Feeds Series’ Top Spo

Lexington, Ky. – August 2, 2016 – While Aaron Vale continues to hold the lead in the 2016 Hagyard Challenge Series, a second place finish by Pablo Barrios and ASD Farfala during Thursday’s $25,000 Hagyard Lexington Classic at the Kentucky Summer Horse Show has narrowed the gap, with only 10 point separating the two athletes. The Kentucky Summer Horse Show also featured the second event for the $5,000 Hallway Feeds USHJA National Hunter Derby series, where Geoffery Hesslink continues to hold the lead in the standings.

Aaron Vale and Quidam’s Good Luck

During the first event of the Hagyard Challenge Series earlier this year, Vale placed second and third to claim the early lead, and followed it up with a solid result during the second event. Pablo Barios of Venezuela continues to hold the second place position in the standings after claiming the victory in the first leg of the Series aboard ASD Farfala, but has climbed closer to catching Vale with a second place finish on Thursday. Todd Minikus and Quality Girl won the class during the Kentucky Spring Classic, and are tied with Thursday’s winner Lauren Hester for the third place position in the standings.

The Hagyard Challenge Series consists of seven grand prix classes to be held during the 2016 show series at the Kentucky Horse Park. Following the final event, a cash prize of $50,000 will be awarded to the rider accumulating the most points throughout the series as well as a $10,000 prize for the reserve champion.

The series concludes with the $65,000 Hagyard Lexington Classic held during the Kentucky National Horse Show. Following that exciting competition, the winner of the $50,000 Leading Rider Bonus will be announced and presented with the cash prize by the Hagyard Equine Medical Institute. New this year is the $200 Best Turned Out award, sponsored by Bob Mickler’s, which will go to a well-deserving groom following each grand prix. In addition, a Hagyard’s Handsomest Hound contest will also be held at each grand prix, sponsored by MedVet Medical & Cancer Centers for Pets.

Hagyard Equine Medical Institute is one of the oldest and largest equine veterinary practices in the world. Founded in 1876, the institute offers a staff with qualifications unparalleled by any single non-university veterinary group in the equine industry, and Hagyard veterinarians have dedicated themselves to the health and well being of the horse.

The facility at Hagyard Equine Medical Institute offers 13 digital radiology systems, 1.5 Tesla Siemens MRI, nuclear scintigraphy, an on-site laboratory, an on-site pharmacy, full medical and surgical services, 24-hour emergency services and hyperbaric medicine. The practice has performed veterinary medicine for more than 137 years and is currently composed of over 50 experienced veterinarians, with 13 board certifications in specialty areas of medicine, surgery and theriogenology. For more information on the Hagyard Equine Medical Institute, please visit

Several generous sponsors have helped make this exciting series event happen. These gracious supporters include title sponsor MWI Animal Health and presenting sponsor Zoetis as well as Dean Dorton Allen Ford, PLLC, Hallway Feeds, Audi of Lexington, Pike & Preston, Sallee Horse Vans and Hagyard Pharmacy. Additional sponsors include Equine Therapy and FooteWorks.

The Kentucky Summer Horse Show also featured the $5,000 Hallway Feeds USHJA National Hunter Derby, the third event in the 2016 Hallway Feeds series. Top results for Geoffrey Hesslink and Aaron Vale during the spring events continue to have them ranked first and second, respectively. The winner of Sunday’s event was Molly Sewell, who is now tied with the leading junior rider Hunter Holloway for third place.

Geoffrey Hesslink and Rookie
The five-part series will feature a $5,000 Hallway Feeds USHJA National Hunter Derby throughout the spring and summer, and at the conclusion of the series the Leading Rider Bonus will be presented.  The $15,000 Hallway Feeds Leading Rider Bonus will award a $10,000 cash prize to the professional rider accumulating the most points in the five classes that make up the 2016 Hallway Feeds series. The series-leading amateur and junior riders accumulating the most points will each receive a $2,500 cash prize. Riders will receive points only on their highest placed horse in each of the classes. The awards will be presented at the conclusion of the Hallway Feeds class at the Bluegrass Festival Horse Show on August 21.

Hallway Feeds’ close proximity to the Kentucky Horse Park provides ample opportunity to utilize the freshest feed, manufactured with time-honored commitments to high standards of quality and the latest scientific advancements. Combining a premium nutrition package with a professional level of dedication in horsemen and women provides equine athletes with the formula for success.

For more information on Hallway Feeds, please

The Hallway Feeds USHJA National Hunter Derby series would not be possible without many generous sponsors including Hagyard Equine Medical Institute, Fenwick Equestrian Products, EquiVision, Inc., Caddel Equine Therapy Center, Bauer Hay & Straw, Alfagreen Supreme, Trouw Nutrition, The Andersons, Mark Fischer Inc., Double S Liquid Feed Services, Inc., Agri-Business Insurance Services and Sweet PDZ Horse Stall Refresher.

To learn more about the Kentucky Horse Shows, please

Hagyard Challenge Series Standings
1            460            AARON VALE
2            450            PABLO BARRIOS
3            250            LAUREN HESTER
              250            TODD MINIKUS
5            230            SHANE SWEETNAM
6            120            ANDREW RAMSAY
7            100            CHRISTINA KELLY
              100            MARK BLUMAN
              100            VICTORIA COLVIN
10          80            ALI WOLFF
              80            KARL COOK
              80            LIZA FINSNESS
            80            LORCAN GALLAGHER

Hallway Feeds Series Standings
1            475            GEOFFREY HESSLINK            PRO

2            425            AARON VALE            PRO
3            250            HUNTER HOLLOWAY            JR
              250            MOLLY SEWELL            PRO
5            225            DOUGLAS BOYD            PRO
              225            TAYLOR KAIN            PRO
7            200            ALLY MARRINAN            JR
              200            ASHLEY VOGEL            JR
9            175            BLYTHE MARANO            PRO
10          150            LEYLAND GLEESON            AM
              150            WINN ALDEN            PRO