Houston Rodeo’s Leroy Shafer Joins Houstons Legends as Ad Foundation Honoree


HOUSTON (AAF) – The American Advertising Federation of Houston (AAF-Houston) will honor Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo (HLSR) vice president and chief operating officer, Leroy Shafer, with the Trailblazer Award on Thursday, Aug.

18 at the Houston Museum of Natural Science.

The award is given each year to an outstanding Houston business individual and marketer who exemplifies American Advertising Federation – Houston’s “Made in Houston” spirit, and has built organizations

through effective advertising, marketing communications,

and responsible corporate citizenship.

Shafer is best known for helping propel the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo far beyond an agricultural event into a world-class entertainment and marketing venue by attracting some of the world’s biggest music performing stars, crossing all musical genres and pioneering the use of lights, sound and video projection.

Thanks in large part to Leroy Shafer’s efforts the HLSR stands as the beacon of the successful intersection of philanthropy, entertainment and inclusion.

Shafer helped lead the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo to a record 2.26 million visitors in 2011. He is now in his 38th year with the organization.

“The Trailblazer gala has become one of the cornerstones of our organization, as it represents an opportunity for us, as an advertising community, to celebrate those marketers that make a difference, value creativity, exalt and utilize Houston’s creative resources – and certainly, put our city in the limelight nationally and even internationally,” expressed newly incoming AAF-Houston Chairman Alex López Negrete, president, CEO and chief creative officer of Lopez Negrete Communications.

Event Chairman Michael Albrecht of Love Advertising stated: “Our organization has honored some truly deserving Trailblazers and Leroy Shafer very much belongs amongst them.

He has made history in so many ways and has contributed greatly to putting Houston in the world spotlight – we look forward to honoring this understated, highly accomplished and much beloved gentleman in the most special of ways on this evening.”

A list of past winners of the prestigious award reads like a who’s-who of Houston civic and business leadership and includes:


2009    Leslie L. Alexander

2008    Walter Johnson

2007    George DeMontrond

2006    H-E-B

2005    Tilman Fertitta

2004    John Nau

2003    Jim McIngvale


2002    Bob McNair

2001    Richard J.V. Johnson

2000    Don D. Jordan

1999    Drayton McLane

1998    Randall Onstead, Jr.

1997    Gordon Bethune